Poems and messaging

Hello beautiful people in the interwebs! I wanted to post a new poem today that I had written about Black women’s sexuality along with Renee Cox’s powerful art, but I received a comment that I also wanted to discuss first. The comment had to do with the  ‘sexy’ haiku I had posted earlier. What I interpreted as abstact, queer sexuality another person interpreted as rape. It shocked me and made me think differently about the power of words and art and messaging. I removed the post, because I don’t want to be reppin anything that could be interpreted as rape. Usually I am not for censure, but in this case I thought the persons concerns were real and I shared them, and have decided to remove the piece. My apologies if that offended anyone.

Leave a Reply

