Beat of the Week

I love digging online and looking up the obscure samples of the dj’s that inspire me. Especially my main man Dilla. He is incredible at sampling the most obscure music, and using it in such creative ways to create new songs. He really represents the essence of hip hop to me. I want to get in the habit of posting every week a new hip hop song with a banging beat and post the original song the beat is sampled from. Who better to kick it off with then J Dilla himself. This track, Milkmoney, is off the 2009 album Jay Stay Paid, which was released after he passed away in 2006. It’s a compilation of all the beats and tracks he was working on while he was hospitalized. This song is amazing, and the Kenny Loggins sample is incredible. I am not a fan of Kenny Loggins, but the original song, Make the Move is pretty worthwhile to listen to by itself…at least the first minute to hear the weird vocal effects on his voice. It is also noteworthy that the Loggins song is off the soundtrack of the classic movie, The caddyshack (<3 Bill Murray still). J is able to skillfully use the vocal sample to create a dope beat that I haven't been able to get out of my ears for days. I would suggest listening to Dilla first, then the  Loggins, then the Dilla again. But that's just me yall can do your own thang. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

